BJP wins big, beats incumbents in 5 states, AAP sweeps Punjab

NEW DELHI: The people have spoken and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has done something which has not been achieved by any party in the near past, it has retained power in most crucial states of Uttar Pradesh (UP), Uttarakhand, Goa, and Manipur, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has swept Punjab with a three-fourths majority.

With 92 seats, while the AAP swept Punjab with the highest tally for any party ever in over forty years, and second in 60 years, Yogi Adityanath becomes the chief minister to not only complete a first full term in UP but also to beat any anti-incumbency and return to the office a second time.

AAP bagged 92 seats in the 117-member Assembly while the ruling Congress managed to secure 18 seats while the BJP secured 2 seats, its former partner Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) bagged three seats and its poll partner Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has won only one seat.

The polls saw several big shots losing their seats, these include former chief ministers Parkash Singh Badal and Amarinder Singh and incumbent MLA  Charanjit Singh Channi, state Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu and SAD's Bikram Singh Majithia, Sukhbir Singh Badal.  AAP's chief ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann, MP from Sangrur won the assembly elections and will most probably be sworn in very soon.

In the state of UP, BJP bagged 255 seats beating the challenger, Samajwadi Party which managed to win 110 seats, the Apna Dal (Soneylal) bagged 12 seats, the Rashtriya Lok Dal won 8 seats, the Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal, and the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party won 6 seats each, while the Congress party and Jansatta Dal Loktantrik bagged 2 while the Bahujan Samaj Party which dint put up a fight bagged only 1 seat.

BJP is also set to come back in Manipur, as it has achieved the majority on its own strength, for a second consecutive term, winning 32 seats, the Naga Peoples Front and the Congress party could manage to win only 5, the National People's Party won 7, the Janata Dal (United) bagged 6 seats, while the independent candidates have won 3 seats in the state.

The BJP also reigns in the 70 seats Uttarakhand assembly winning 47 seats, while the Congress party winning 19 and the Bahujan Samaj Party and independent winning 2 seats each.

Even in Goa, the BJP is forming its government again winning 20 seats on its own, with the Congress coming a distant second at 11, the Aam Aadmi Party, and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak bagged 2 seats, while the Goa Forward Party and the Revolutionary Goans Party won 1 seat each. The independent candidates won 3 seats.


  • EP News Service
    EP News Service

    Crisp, and to the point news coverage from India and around the world.

    View Reporter News

Related News